Immigration & Migration

US travel advice for Australian dual nationals

The Australian government has announced that Australian dual nationals will not be affected by new immigration rules implemented by US President Donald Trump over the weekend.

Trump’s controversial executive order banned entry to the United States from seven countries - Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia,  Sudan, Syria and Yemen for 90 days following the signing of the order on Friday January 27. The order also temporarily banned entry of dual-nationals who are from those seven countries, but have an additional passport.

On Tuesday January 31 Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull said the Australian government had secured a deal with the United states that means Australian dual nationals will not be affected by the temporary ban. 

“We have received confirmation from the White House this morning that Australian passport holders will be able to travel to and from the United States in the normal way,” Turnbull said.

“They won’t be affected by the recent executive order… regardless of whether they are dual citizens of another country, or where they are born.”

Other limitations on entry to the United States still apply, and any traveller should visit the Australian government’s Smart Traveller site to find out more.

Jensen Ma, an immigration lawyer and partner at Tan and Tan Lawyers and Consultants, says travel to the United States for Australians will continue as usual and the exemption should take effect immediately.

“I would say for most people it is business as usual,” he says.